Trouble getting a read from my first implant

Hi all.
First I’m new to this and exciting world, so it might be an ovious questing, but I got my first implant, the NExT chip, and I can not read the chip from my phone.
I got it installed just a bit over 48 houres ago from writing this, and I thought that I just had to waite a bit for the swelling to go down, but still no luck.
I know it’s in there, I can get a beep out of the KBR1.
I have moved my phone arround a lot in an attempt to get a reading, but still no luck.
So I guess my real question is, can it be put too deep in the hand, so no phone will be able to read it?

I hope you lovely people in here can help a new guy with this.

If the KBR1 beeps, it’s getting a read and it should spew out the UID in whatever application you have open on your computer. Does it do that?

As for your phone, depending on your model, it might be one of those phones which are a bit weak on the NFC front. Or you might not hit the chip just right (location and angle). Or a combination of those factors and the swelling. But the fact that the KBR1 beeps is excellent news.

I’d say wait until the swelling subsides, and/or try with another phone. Also, I suggest buying an ACR122U reader: it’s kind of the gold standard for implantable NFC chip readers, it’s cheap, and you’re bound to need one at one point or another. If anything will read your chip, the ACR122U will.

Oh and yeah, welcome to the club :slight_smile:

Thanks for the answer.
Atm. I do not have any applications on my PC that will read the tag, still looking for one, so I do not know if it sends a UID yet. If you have any suggestions I’m all ears.

I will calm my nerves and give my hand some more time to recover, before starting ot freak out XD

Open a text editor, scan your chip with the KBR1.
The KBR1 is basically just a keyboard that types out the id, no special software needed.

1 Like

Right, ofc.
Sometimes I forget the obvious.
It gets a read.
Thanks!